Saturday, August 05, 2006

Trivia Quiz: Time to put on your thinking caps, Mystics fans! Today, the BasketCases are testing your knowledge of Mystics history. Jon Gallo in his preview of tonight's Mystics game in Sacramento (10 PM EDT, listen on WWRC 1260 AM or WNBA.com) tells us that in seven games spread over the last eight years (count 'em 1-2-3-4-5-6-7-8 . . . we told you the BasketCases are good at this higher mathematics stuff!) the Mystics have won only ONCE at Arco arena! So here's your chance to win a limited edition BasketCases T-shirt (oops! We don't HAVE BasketCases T-shirts . . . but we would give you one if we did) a genuine mint-condition (well, at least un-opened) package of Mystics bangers (something scarcer this season than Sheila Johnson limited edition bobble-less heads!). So now that you know what you're competing for, here are the Questions:

Q1: What was the exact date of the Mystics' only previous win over the Monarchs in Sacramento?

Q2: What was the final score of the game?

***drumroll, please*** Now comes the really hard question:

Q3: This game was decided in two (1-2) overtimes! What was the score at the end of regulation and what was the score at the end of the first OT?

OK, on the count of three, dust off those old media guides, dig through a stack of musty old newspaper clippings, and get to work!

1-2-3 GO!

[Note: The BasketCases' decision is final, even if it's wrong. . . which it might be, since we have no clue whatsoever what the answer to Q3 actually is!]

7 Comments:

At 3:17 PM, Anonymous betsy said...

I don't mean to ignore the quiz...I'm just ramped up about something else. On WAMU today, commentator Jim Helein gave a list of reasons to be a sports fan in Washington, DC. The long list included the Nats, the Wizards, the Skins, and the Caps...guess who was missing? Following his piece, the reader states his tag line as "He's such a casual sports fan, he denies the very existence of the Mystics." Oh Puh-leez. Tell WAMU why YOU'RE a sports fan in Washington no matter what Jim Helein says. Comments go here: http://www.wamu.org/programs/mc/contact_us.php#contactForm

Oh yeah:
(1) June 25, 2002
(2) 88-86, on a lst second three-pointer by Holdclaw
(3) regulation 64-64, OT #1: 74-74

 
At 3:25 PM, Anonymous betsy said...

Consumed and somewhat flustered by the thrill of winning a contest by the BasketCases, I mistyped the final score, which should be 87-86.

 
At 4:21 PM, Blogger BasketCases said...

Betsy,

I'm afraid the BasketCases only allow one entry per contestant.

Since your first entry (the only valid one) has the final score wrong...Sorry, but you lose. But thanks for participating. You will automatically be entered in our consolation drawing...so you could still win a limited edition picture of Jennie Whittle.

--BC

 
At 5:20 PM, Blogger Posting-Up said...

Boy, that's really tight... you actually GOT a right answer and you invoke a rule that wasn't even in the fine print? Wow! You guys must actually KNOW Mike Price!

 
At 5:53 PM, Blogger BasketCases said...

Posting-up,

It's OUR blog, so we get to invoke any rules we want. Betsy violated unwritten rule #39.

...and for dissing our Uncle Mike, we're not even going to let you participate in our consolation drawing! So there.

But, thanks for your comment!

--BC

 
At 7:37 PM, Blogger Taggart said...

Does that mean all I have to do is this?

(1) June 25, 2002
(2) 87-86, on a lst second three-pointer by Holdclaw
(3) regulation 64-64, OT #1: 74-74

Ahh.. taking advantage of another's misfortune. Nothing like it on a Saturday night.

But seriously, I remember that game fondly... late at night, trying to go to sleep, in bed just waiting for it to be over. Thinking in the end how thankful I was to finally have a player who could finish a game for us. Turns out I was wrong... now with Beard we finally have that player.

 
At 7:56 PM, Blogger BasketCases said...

crazydoglady,

Thank you for your entry, but it is with great regret that the BasketCases must inform you that you violated two (1-2) unwritten rules:

Rule #39-1/4: You must not copy off someone else's paper.

Rule #39-1/2: The "too much information" rule. In this case, we only asked for the score, we did NOT ask WHO scored.

Therefore, you are disqualified. Sorry. But the good news is that unlike that Posting-up, you will indeed be entered in the consolation prize drawing.

Thanks for your comment!

--BC

 

Post a Comment

<< Home